Buhari Reassigns 42 Chancellors Offers New Appointment To Jega

Buhari Reassigns 42 Chancellors
Buhari Reassigns 42 Chancellors Offers New Appointment To Jega
Buhari Reassigns 42 Chancellors Offers New Appointment To Jega


President Muhammadu Buhari has named Prof. Attahiru Jega, former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), to the University of Jos’ Governing Council.


Security still tops my list of priorities – Buhari | Premium Times Nigeria

iexclusive News Nigeria reports that Malam Adamu Adamu, Minister of Education, announced this while speaking to journalists in Abuja on Thursday, saying Buhari also authorized the appointment and reassignment of Chancellors to 42 federal universities.


Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, both former Ministers, were also chosen chairmen of governing councils.


Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo, University of Abuja; Malam Adamu Fika, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Dr. Sonny Kuku, University of Benin; Chief Ikechi Emenike, University of Nigeria; Nsukka and Ballama Manu, University of Maiduguri are the other Council Chairmen.


Adamu also stated that the President approved the re-constitution of the Governing Councils of 23 Federal universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) after their terms expired on May 8, 2021.


The Chancellors will be introduced to the University Community at an investiture ceremony to be held during the next convocation event, according to the minister.

He stated that the investiture will take place before the conferral of degrees during the convocation.


“In respect to the university, the Chancellor shall have priority over all other members of the institution, and when he is present, shall preside at all meetings of convocation held for conferring degrees,” he stated.


HRM Prof James Ortese Iorzua Ayatse, the Tor Tiv (University of Benin), Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III. CON, JP. Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University), Bauchi, HM Obi Ofala Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe, Obi of Onitsha (Ahmadu Bello University), Zaria, and HRM Oba Aremu Gbadebo, Alake of Egbaland (Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebom).


HM, Oba Ewuare 11, Oba of Benin (Bayero University, Kano), HRM King W S Joshua Igbugburu X, Con, Ibenanawei of Bomo Kingdom (Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State), and HRM Professor Joseph Chike Edozien are also present. CFR, Asagba of Asaba (Federal University Gashua, Yobe), HRH Alhaji (Dr.) Mohammadu Abali Ibn Mohammed Idris, CON, Emir of Fika, (Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State).


Amanyanabo of Opobo Kingdom, King Dandeson Douglas Jaja Jeki (Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina), HRH Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Abubakar III, Emir of Gombe (Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike), and HRH Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad 1, Emir of Lafia (Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa),