Connect with us


Lagos Health Commissioner Tests Positive For Covid-19

Avatar photo



The Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, has tested positive for coronavirus.


The Lagos Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, made this known in a press statement on Monday.

READ MORE: Ondo 2020: Ajayi accused of stockpiling arms training Militia

The statement was titled ‘Press release on the positive COVID-19 Status of Lagos Commissioner for Health, Prof Akin Abayomi’.


The statement read, “Subsequent to close contact with persons feeling unwell and testing positive for the COVID-19 infection, the Honorable Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, has tested positive for the virus.


“Professor Abayomi became aware of his status following the required testing protocol of contact tracing procedures.


“However, he is doing well with no symptoms. Adhering to the protocol of the home-based strategy in Lagos State, the Honorable Commissioner will be isolating in his home for the next 14 days but will continue to discharge his duties both as the Deputy Incident Commander of the Incident Command System for COVID-19 and most especially, as the Honorable Commissioner for Health.


“Our prayers are with him and his family during his period of isolation.”


On Sunday, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control announced 322 new COVID-19 cases in the country, bringing the total number of infections to 52,227.


The health agency indicated that 1,002 people have lost their lives to COVID-19 in the country.


According to it, five more people infected with the virus died in the last 24 hours.


The health agency said that till date, 52,227 cases had been confirmed, with 38,945 discharged and 1,002 deaths recorded in 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory(FCT).


The NCDC stated that the 322 new cases were reported from 18 states.


It noted that Lagos, the epicentre, recorded 130 cases, followed by Bauchi with 36 cases.


Others are FCT(25), Edo(17), Bayelsa(14), Ogun(14), Oyo(14), Anambra(13), Kaduna(12), Ondo(11), Abia(10), Osun(6), Plateau(5), Kwara(5), Kano(4), Ebonyi(3), Sokoto(2) and Borno(1).