Why UK Removed Nigeria,Others From The Red List, 

The UK government has announced that all 11 countries will be removed from the UK’s travel blacklist as of 4 a.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 15.


iexclusive News Nigeria reports that following the appearance of the Omicron variation in late November, Nigeria, South Africa, Botswana, Angola, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe were added to the list.

The Omicron strain has spread so widely, according to UK Health Secretary Sajid Javid, that the rules are no longer effective.

He told parliament today, Dec. 14: “Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the UK and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad.

“While we will maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel, all 11 countries will be removed from the travel red list as of 4 a.m. tomorrow morning.”

Currently, all red-list visitors to the UK must pay for and stay in a pre-booked, government-approved hotel for 10 days. They must also undergo Covid tests 48 hours before leaving for the UK, as well as PCR tests two days after arrival.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button